2024 Clarke Award Shortlist – Locus Online


The shortlist for the annual Arthur C. Clarke Award, celebrating the best science fiction novel published in the UK, has been announced:

  • Chain-Gang All-Stars, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah (Harvill Secker)
  • The Ten Percent Thief, Lavanya Lakshminarayan (Solaris)
  • In Ascension, Martin MacInnes (Atlantic)
  • The Mountain in the Sea, Ray Nayler (Weidenfeld & Nicholson)
  • Some Desperate Glory, Emily Tesh (Orbit)
  • Corey Fah Does Social Mobility, Isabel Waidner (Hamish Hamilton)

The winner will be announced on July 24, 2024, and receives an engraved bookend and £2,024 in prize money. The 2023 judges are Dolly Garland and Stark Holborn for the British Science Fiction Association, Nic Clarke and Tom Dillon for the Science Fiction Foundation, and Glyn Morgan for the SCI-FI-LONDON film festival. Andrew M. Butler represented the Clarke Award directors as non-voting Chair of the Judges.

Butler says,

This year’s shortlist takes us from the deepest oceans to furthest outer space – with satire, time travel, aliens, octopuses, supercomputers and a six-legged Bambi. Many thanks to returning judge Stark Holborn and to neophytes Nic Clarke, Tom Dillon, Dolly Garland and Glyn Morgan for selecting six writers new to the Arthur C. Clarke Award. I suspect the final decision will be very close indeed.

Award Director Tom Hunter said,

In addition to six new writers joining the Clarke Award’s shortlist ranks, we were delighted to receive submissions from a record-breaking 50 eligible publishing imprints this year. We hope this speaks to the future health and depth of the genre across the UK’s publishing industry even as the task of defining science fiction becomes ever more challenging for our judges!

For more information, see the Clarke Award website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Comment